Adding shared folders/files to My Drive in Google Drive

You are here:
  • KB Home
  • Google
  • Adding shared folders/files to My Drive in Google Drive
< Back

Any Google Drive files or folder that have been shared with you won’t be visible on your computer until you move it into your My Drive folder. Below are instructions to do this.

Here’s what you can see in Shared with me:

  • Files shared with you by other people
  • Folders shared with you by other people
  • Files shared with a link that you have opened

Starting with the most recent file shared with you, you will see:

  • The date the file was shared with you
  • The owner of the file/folder
  • The document type

To organise your shared files and to ensure that they sync with your computer, add them to My Drive:

  • From Google Drive click on the Shared with me menu item
  • Right-click the files or folders that you want to add to your My Drive
  • In the top right, click Add to My Drive
  • Once added to My Drive a pop-up will appear. Click Organize
  • Choose the folder you want to add it to
  • Click Move or Move here.

Now these files (or folders) will sync with your computer